Half Marathoning…Again

I’ve run exactly one race. For the vast majority of my life, I took the saying “If I’m running, you should run too because something is chasing me” as a mantra. I didn’t run at all. Then, last January I decided – for reasons that are still unclear – that I wanted to set a goal to run a half marathon. Not a 5k. Not a 10k. Not even the local .5k (where they give you donuts and you jog one city block, basically. I’d never run for anything other than the bus, but I decided that for my first race, I was going to run a half marathon.

And I did it! Granted, I had blisters the size of golf balls on my instep for a month and a half, and I basically couldn’t move for the rest of the weekend, but I did it.

And almost immediately afterwards, I decided I’d probably never do it again.

I’m a liar, apparently.

I don’t know what compelled me to not only agree to another half marathon but, I think, to actually suggest running another one, but while working out with one of my coworkers, I definitely suggested running another one this fall. I blame the endorphins.

Anyway, I started the Aaptiv half marathon training program yesterday. I’d used it for 9 days last time, but then I went on vacation and wasted too much time in the run-up to the half so I did a truncated training program that was definitely designed for a runner with a little bit more experience than I had.

I did surprisingly well yesterday. I’ve been working out since my half, but I haven’t run consistently. Still, I managed to match my pace from the half. I even went a little bit faster than I did while training last year. The trainer, Rochelle, tells runners to jog and then go into their “tempo” pace, but since I’m still a novice – and I’m carrying around extra weight that makes running somewhat more difficult – my “tempo” pace is a jog. It’s a twelve week long course, and the half marathon won’t be before October, so I’ll be able to go through it completely twice. We were planning on the Colorado Springs Half Marathon, but apparently Colorado Springs discounts the possibility that Jews want to participate – it’s on Yom Kippur this year, and I’m barely a runner when I’m well nourished, I certainly wouldn’t do well without food or drink.

So, October or November (the Denver Rock n Roll Half is in November) it is. I’m going to try to keep as close to the running schedule Aaptiv lays out as possible. And I’m going to use tons of baby powder so I can avoid blisters, if possible.

I make interesting decisions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

